Ayurvedic Thai Yoga Therapy


Raja Yoga

Raja yoga (raja-royal), is also recognized amongst the larger spiritual community as Ashtanga yoga. Emphasizing much more than just asana (physical postures), not to be confused with Pattabhis Jois's Mysore vinyasa, this eight limbed path (ast-eight/ anga-limb) is described in Patanjali's text The Yoga Sutras. Designed over 4000 years ago as a natural, progressively arranged and scientifically proven system towards directly experiencing the divine.

"The goal of Raja yoga is to teach and to show how to concentrate the mind; then how to discover the innermost recesses of our own minds; then how to generalize their contents and form our own conclusions from them. it never asks what our belief is - whether we are deists, or atheists, whether christians, jews, or buddhists. We are human beings, and that is sufficient. Every human being has the right and the power to seek religion; every human being has the right to ask the reason why and to have his question answered by himself- if he only takes the trouble." - S. Vivekananda

Patanjali's Raja Yoga

  1. Yama (restraints):
    Ahimsa (non-violence)
    Satya (truth)
    Asteya (non-stealing)
    Brahmacharya (sexual restraint) and
    Aparigraha (non-attachment);
  2. Niyama (observances):
    Saucha (purity)
    Santosha (contentment)
    Tapas (austerities)
    Svadhyaya (study) and
    Ishvarapranidhana (surrender to God);
  3. Asana (steady and comfortable posture);
  4. Pranayama (the regulation of the breath);
  5. Pratyahara (withdrawal of sensory perception);
  6. Dharana (concentration);
  7. Dhyana (meditation); and
  8. Samadhi (superconsciousness/ bliss)

The mind is constantly moving and changing, stirring emotions and projecting realities. With consistency and effort along the path of yoga, this energy can be harnessed as a tool for self exploration and experiences of bliss. Why listen to a preacher from a pulpit tell of other people's divine moments when you can find them within yourself? Make it yours.

"We can talk about love and write a thousand books about it, but love will be completely different for each of us because we have to experience it. Love is not about concepts, love is about action. Love in action is happiness. Fear in action is suffering. The only way to master love is to practice it. You don't need to justify your love, you don't need to explain your love. You just need to practice your love. Practice makes the master/ lover." - unknown